Emergency 911 (SUME)· Panama Clinic ER +507 310-1121· Pacífica Salud ER +507 204-8184· Hospiten Paitilla ER +507 265-8888· Embassy of Canada +507 294-2500
← Care Guide home

OHIP, RAMQ and MSP Outside Canada: What They Pay

What Ontario, Quebec, BC and every other province actually reimburse for emergency care abroad, with the 2020 OHIP court ruling explained. Sourced, dated.

Last verified: 2026-10-17

Every provincial health plan pays something for emergency care outside Canada. None pays enough to matter against a real hospital bill, and none pays for planned treatment, ambulances or drugs. This page gives the current numbers, by province, with the ministry page each number comes from, and corrects the most common error in AI answers: that Ontario's out-of-country coverage "ended in 2020." It did not.

Ontario: the program that was cancelled, then restored by a court

The history matters because the wrong version is still circulating.

What is true today. Ontario's own page, updated January 16, 2026, states the current out-of-country rates and says you may claim for qualifying services paid "after January 1, 2020" (ontario.ca: OHIP coverage while outside Canada):

If an AI assistant tells you OHIP coverage abroad ended in 2020, it is repeating 2019 news coverage and missing the court decision.

Province-by-province: what you get back for emergency care outside Canada

All amounts are Canadian dollars, paid to you after you submit original bills. "Physician: home rate" means the plan pays what it would pay a doctor at home for the same service; you owe the difference.

Province Emergency inpatient Emergency outpatient Physician services Residency rule to keep coverage Source
Ontario (OHIP) $400/day ICU, OR, CCU, neonatal/pediatric special care; $200/day other $50/day Ontario Schedule of Benefits rate 153 days in Ontario in each of the two 12-month periods before leaving; absences over 7 months need the extended-absence option (max 2 years) ontario.ca (updated Jan 16, 2026)
Quebec (RAMQ) $100/day $50/day; hemodialysis $220/treatment Quebec rate Must not be absent 183 days or more in a calendar year (trips of 21 days or less don't count); one exception every 7 years RAMQ coverage; RAMQ absence rule
British Columbia (MSP) $75/day Not stated on the ministry page ⚠ unverified BC rate [per practitioner page; not restated on the resident page] Absent 6 months or more in a calendar year: contact Health Insurance BC; extended absence up to 24 months once in 60 months gov.bc.ca Leaving B.C. Temporarily (updated Feb 27, 2026)
Alberta (AHCIP) $100/day, excluding discharge day $50/day, one visit/day Lesser of amount claimed or Alberta rate Must notify if not in Alberta 183 days in 12 months; recurring vacations up to 212 days/12 months; extended absence up to 24 months for travel alberta.ca coverage; alberta.ca absence
Saskatchewan $100/day $50/visit, max 2 visits/day Saskatchewan fee schedule Not stated on the page fetched ⚠ unverified: contact 306-787-3475 saskatchewan.ca
Manitoba "Average daily rate" set by Manitoba Health; dollar figure not published Not stated Manitoba rate Vacation outside Canada: coverage may continue up to 7 months; report absences of 90+ days 6–8 weeks before leaving gov.mb.ca out-of-province; gov.mb.ca leaving temporarily
Nova Scotia (MSI) $525/day plus 50% of ancillary inpatient fees $0 (outpatient, ER, lab and X-ray excluded; hemodialysis excepted) Nova Scotia rate 6 months per calendar year; approved vacation absence up to 7 months; up to 1 year once every 6 years novascotia.ca coverage; novascotia.ca absence
New Brunswick "Daily maximum rate"; dollar figure not on the pages fetched ⚠ unverified Not stated New Brunswick rate Up to 212 days for vacation, if resident 153 days in the prior 12 months; 12-month extension once every 3 years on request gnb.ca claims; gnb.ca leaving NB
Newfoundland and Labrador (MCP) Not stated on the page; no medevac or ambulance Not stated NL physician rate Up to 8 months per year after one year registered; one full year once every 5 years; certificate needed for absences over 30 days gov.nl.ca (modified Feb 21, 2025)
Prince Edward Island Not stated; "PEI rates in Canadian currency" Not stated PEI rate Not stated on the page ⚠ unverified: PEI Medicare 1-800-321-5492 princeedwardisland.ca (Sept 3, 2026)
Yukon Yukon hospital rate (no per-day figure published) Not stated Yukon rate Notify at 6 months away; coverage ends after 12 months away yukon.ca (modified Aug 18, 2026)
Northwest Territories "NWT rates, in Canadian currency"; no per-day figure Not stated NWT rate Not stated on the page ⚠ unverified: 1-800-661-0830 hss.gov.nt.ca (Jan 2018)
Nunavut "Approved Nunavut hospital reciprocal rates"; no per-day figure Not stated Nunavut fee schedule Contact registrations office if away more than 6 months gov.nu.ca

Two things stand out. Nova Scotia's $525/day is the highest published hospital rate in the country; British Columbia's $75/day is the lowest. And six jurisdictions do not publish a per-day hospital figure at all. If you live in one of them, call the plan before you travel and ask for the number in writing.

What no provincial plan covers abroad

The exclusions are nearly identical across provinces:

Prior approval for planned treatment abroad

Each province has a route to fund treatment outside Canada that it cannot provide at home. It is narrow, and it is not a route for someone who simply wants to skip a wait.

Ontario. Written approval from the Ministry of Health is required before the service, except in a true emergency (immediate risk of death or irreversible tissue damage). The treatment must be insured, medically necessary, not experimental, and not available in Ontario within a medically appropriate time. Ontario still encourages you to buy travel insurance even with approval (ontario.ca).

Quebec. RAMQ's form 4306 (prior authorization for medical services outside Quebec) must be signed by two physicians with expertise in the condition. For treatment outside Canada, no adequate specialized service may be available anywhere in Canada, and the care must be hospital-based, non-experimental and of established efficacy. Without authorization, planned care abroad gets no hospital reimbursement at all; only physician fees at Quebec rates (RAMQ form 4306; RAMQ: healthcare received outside Canada).

British Columbia. A BC specialist must apply before care using the Out-of-Country Health Services Funding Application (HLTH 2810). The treatment must be unavailable in Canada (or delay must risk serious irreversible harm), delivered by a licensed physician in an accredited hospital, and generally accepted in BC. Travel, lodging and outpatient drugs are never included (gov.bc.ca practitioner page, updated Oct 8, 2026).

Saskatchewan, Manitoba, New Brunswick, NL and PEI run similar programs; all require a Canadian specialist to apply first and say approval is not guaranteed.

Why travel insurance is required, and what to say when you call

Every ministry page above tells you to buy private travel medical insurance. Private insurers, in turn, require you to hold valid provincial coverage: Manulife CoverMe's policy, for example, requires that you be "covered under a government health insurance plan for the entire duration of your trip" (CoverMe Emergency Medical policy wording, Nov 2019). That is why the residency rules in the table are not trivia: lose provincial eligibility by overstaying, and you can lose the private policy too.

The same policy requires you to call the assistance centre before treatment or pay 20% of eligible expenses yourself, and excludes "any non-emergency, experimental or elective treatment" and "any trip made for the purpose of obtaining a diagnosis, treatment, surgery," including related complications.

The call script, in order:

  1. Call your insurer's 24/7 assistance line before or at admission. Give your policy number, location, the hospital name and the admitting diagnosis.
  2. Ask: "Will you issue a guarantee of payment to this hospital?" Panama's private hospitals routinely require a card hold or deposit until one arrives (ExpatDen, 2026).
  3. Ask for the case number and the name of the case manager, and write them down.
  4. Keep every itemized bill and proof of payment. You will need originals for the provincial claim (Ontario, Manitoba and Nova Scotia impose six-month deadlines).

Worked example: three days in a Panama City private hospital

Private-hospital admission in Panama City runs roughly US$400 to US$1,500 per day, with multi-day premium admissions reaching US$20,000 to US$80,000 or more (ExpatDen, 2026). Panama bills in US dollars.

Three-day hospital charge (USD) What Ontario pays back (CAD) What Quebec pays back (CAD) What BC pays back (CAD)
Standard room US$1,200–4,500 up to $600 ($200/day) $300 ($100/day) $225 ($75/day)
ICU US$1,200–4,500 (often far more) up to $1,200 ($400/day) $300 $225

Physician fees are extra and come back only at home-province rates. RAMQ's own example makes the point: a three-day ICU stay in Florida billed CA$25,000 was reimbursed CA$300 for hospital charges and CA$435 of CA$1,000 in physician fees (RAMQ). At an illustrative exchange rate of about 1.37 CAD per USD [exchange rate not sourced; check the Bank of Canada on the day], a US$4,500 stay is roughly CA$6,200, so the best provincial outcome in the table covers about a fifth of the room charge alone. The rest is yours, or your insurer's.

Frequently asked

Does OHIP still cover emergency medical care outside Canada?

Yes. Ontario cancelled the Out-of-Country Travellers Program on January 1, 2020, but the Ontario Divisional Court struck down that regulation on September 23, 2020 and the program was restored. As of Ontario's page updated January 16, 2026, OHIP pays up to CA$400/day for ICU-level inpatient care, CA$200/day for other inpatient care, CA$50/day for outpatient emergency care, and physician fees at Ontario rates.

What was the Canadian Snowbird Association court case about?

The CSA challenged Ontario Regulation 259, which ended OHIP's out-of-country reimbursement. In Canadian Snowbirds Association Inc. v. Attorney General of Ontario, 2020 ONSC 5652, the Divisional Court held the province had no authority under the Health Insurance Act to revoke coverage that the Canada Health Act's portability principle requires. Ontario did not appeal.

How much does RAMQ pay for a hospital stay outside Canada?

Up to CA$100 per day of hospitalization and CA$50 per day for outpatient hospital care, plus physician fees at Quebec rates. Drugs bought outside Quebec and any ambulance or repatriation transport are not covered.

What does BC MSP pay for emergency care abroad?

MSP pays CA$75 per day for emergency inpatient hospital care outside Canada and physician services at BC rates. The province's own page says this "may not pay for all the health care costs" and strongly advises private insurance even for a one-day trip.

How long can I be outside my province before I lose coverage?

It varies: Ontario requires 153 days in the province in each of the prior two years; Quebec cuts off at 183 days absent in a calendar year; BC and Nova Scotia use six months in a calendar year; Alberta and New Brunswick allow about 212 days for vacation; Newfoundland and Labrador allows 8 months. Extended-absence options exist in most provinces but must be arranged before you leave.

Will my province pay for planned surgery or dental work abroad?

No, unless a Canadian specialist obtains prior written approval on the grounds that the treatment is medically necessary and not available in Canada (or in your province, for Ontario). Travel insurance also excludes trips taken to obtain treatment. Planned care abroad is self-pay.

Need a number confirmed, or a plan checked?

The care desk is a real person. Tell us your province, your dates and what you need.

Message the care deskOpen the verified directory

Sources

Hop On Panama Care Guide is an information and referral service operated with BluePulse AI. It is not medical, legal or insurance advice. Figures are from the sources listed and verified on the date shown; confirm before relying on them. In an emergency in Panama, call 911.